RSS

Amy Butler Nappy Bag – a diaper bag

22 Nov

Continuing my diaper bag, general bag and sewing obsession, I tried my hand at the Amy Butler Nappy Bag – a stand alone pattern purchased from my local fabric store. This pattern sewed up super quick and easily. I used a Michael Miller corduroy fabric for the exterior and a coordinating cotton fabric for the interior.

Like many of Amy Butler’s other diaper bag designs, this one comes with a number of functional interior side pockets, which are always welcome in an everyday diaper bag.

The Michael Miller corduroy fabric sewed up like a dream. I was a little hesitant to try it, because I’d never sewn with corduroy before and was concerned about working with the fine ribbing, but it wasn’t a problem at all. And the feel of the cord is so luxurious and yummy, it felt nice running through my hands as I worked with it on the sewing machine. To give it stability, I used duck cloth, which makes the bag a little heavier, but at the same time gives it a nice heft that says, “I’m a diaper bag – I can take whatever you can fit into me.”

This is a big bag — but I like big bags because I get annoyed when I can’t fit all my stuff into whatever I’m carrying. Here’s a picture to give you an idea of its size.

I think this is a great bag, even for the beginning sewist.

My “if I had it to do over again” note on this one is that I might have chosen a different fabric for the coordinating interior. I struggled with my choice here. I like the way it looks, but to be honest with you, the dark, busy pattern makes it a little tough to spot things inside the bag when you’re rummaging around in there in a hurry. But in truth, I kinda knew this before I ever purchased the fabric. I just lived with my choice.

Happy sewing.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 22, 2010 in Sewing

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Amy Butler Nappy Bag – a diaper bag

  1. Helen Foster-Collins

    January 6, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    Hi there, this may sound like a strange request, but I just bought the Amy Butler diaper bag pattern to make for my friend who I am seeing in two weeks. I cut out all the pattern pieces BEFORE reading all the instructions (I guess I was just so excited!) and now I can’t find the pattern piece for the strap! I must have thrown it away. I was just wondering if I could find somebody who might kindly give me the dimensions just for the strap pattern piece, and saw that you had made this bag recently. I am in such a panic now and was so excited about making it. There is not even time to order another pattern and sew the bag before I see my friend. Might you be able to help me please? Or someone out there that may read this? Kind Regards, a fellow obsessive sewer, Helen

     
    • babyspark

      January 6, 2011 at 4:08 pm

      Hi Helen, so you know that the strap pattern piece should be taped to the main panels before cutting out your fabric, right? I just took a look and the strap portion is not a perfect rectangle. The best way I can tell you to mimic the pattern is to draw a piece equivalent to the width of the end of the main panel that says “match up the dotted line on the strap to this dotted line and tape together,” then go up about 10.5″ – the piece will taper at the other end to about 3″ in width. Does that make sense? I hope this helps. Good luck!

      Sandra

       
  2. Helen Foster-Collins

    January 6, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    Oh thank-you! I can’t believe you have replied so quickly – how kind you are! I was sat this evening trying to draw my own strap pattern piece but having to guess how long it was and how thin at the end – so it is 10.5 inches long from the dotted line? This will help so much and I will redraw the piece tomorrow when my brain is fresh.
    Have realised that I have overestimated how much time is left – it is 2 weekends till I visit my friend which is just over ONE week! I always seem to do this to myself and never leave any time for errors – which, in my case, are inevitable! Have already cut my exterior pieces wrong (thought they were short!) but luckily have extra material.
    Thanks again, you have saved the day for me! Will post a pic when it is finished if possible to do that on here. I am also using corduroy for the outside so nice to know this worked out so well for you – hope my bag will look as good!
    Helen x

     
    • babyspark

      January 6, 2011 at 9:17 pm

      Yes, 10.5″ from the dotted line, tapering to 3″ at the other end. Good luck! From what I remember the bag went fairly quickly so don’t worry! I’d love to see the end product. What a great gift! I’m just glad I could help. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
